仇恨在卑诗省没有立足之地

采取行动

如果您是种族主义或仇恨的受害者

如果您是种族主义或仇恨的受害者,您可用多种方法采取行动:

  1. 求助。如果您是在公共场所,并正遭到言语或肢体的攻击,要让身边的人知道您需要帮助。
  2. 如果安全的话,拍摄作恶者或事件的照片或视频,或请他人代为拍摄,将事件记录下来。记下时间、日期和地点。
  3. 进行举报
  4. 联络Victim Link (受害者热线),以获得保密、多种语言的危机支援和资讯,以及转介服务。

如果您目睹种族主义或仇恨事件

如果您目睹种族主义或仇恨事件,您可用多种方法安全和有效地采取行动:

  1. 首先评估一下自己的安全。您是否可以安全地说话或做一些事情?做个好的目击者,您的安全是关键。
  2. 如果安全的话,让受害者参与对话,询问他们是否还好,或者他们是否想得到一些协助。这会让作恶者/挑衅者/骚扰者知道,受害者不是孤立无援的。
  3. 如果安全的话,让其他目击者不要袖手旁观。与在那里的其他人交谈,为受害者争取支持。人多力量大。
  4. 如果安全的话,通过拍摄事件的照片或视频,或做记录,将事件记录下来。保持安全距离,并记下时间、日期和地点。一定要问受害者想要如何处置这些照片或视频,并在未得到允许的情况下,不可将其在网上发布。
  5. 在安全的情况下,询问受害者是否想请别人协助向警方举报该事件,或是联系受害者热线

参与进来 – Resilience BC(卑诗抗逆计划)

卑诗抗逆计划反种族主义网络(Resilience BC Anti-Racism Network)提供一种多方面的、在全省推行的方法,在识别和抗击种族主义方面更具有集中力和领导力。该计划将社区与他们所需的资讯、支援和培训联接起来,以应对及防止未来的种族主义和仇恨事件。

卑诗抗逆计划反种族主义网络通过“中枢辐射”模式,提供协调一致的服务。中枢连接着各社区、分享资讯和资源,以及统筹培训和反种族主义措施。辐射点是基于社区的分部,代表当地的成员并与他们合作。他们也会找出当地要优先处理的问题,推动反种族主义及反仇恨项目。

Learn More

其他举报方法

如在互联网上看到种族主义或是仇恨的内容,要采取行动。

互联网上的评论或视频不能免除作为仇恨罪行可能要承担的刑事责任,而且在与加拿大有足够联系的情况下,可能被举报接受调查。

人权立法或社交媒体平台、网页寄存服务和互联网服务提供商的允许使用政策,也可处理歧视行为,例如种族主义、恐跨症或性别歧视言论(在性质上可能是或可能不是刑事犯罪)。涵盖的内容可能包括针对新闻报道、社交媒体帖文、聊天论坛或在线博彩的种族主义的或仇恨的语言或评论。

投诉可直接交给警方或网站管理员、网页寄存或互联网服务提供商。

  • 向警方举报 – 如果在互联网上看到直接的恐吓,您可向警方举报。
  • 向网站管理员举报 – 大部分网站都有称为‘可接受的使用政策’(acceptable use policies)规则,规定什么内容不能放在其网站上,并且通常不允许有冒犯或伤害人的评论、视频或图片。网页和社交媒体网站可能会有简单易行的方法,让您举报某个网页或视频。其他的网站上可能有您可以点击的‘举报此页’(report this page)键。
  • 向互联网托管公司举报 – 托管公司拥有网站持有人为了存在于互联网而租用的数字空间。托管公司通常对内容有他们自己的一套规则。您可以通过在‘Who is hosting this?’(谁托管本网站?)网站输入他们的网址来找出哪个公司托管该网站。
  • 请联络您自己的互联网供应商,以获取更多资讯。

Hate Has No Place in BC

Take Action

If you are the VICTIM of racism or hate

If you are the victim of a racist or hate incident, you can take action in several ways:

  1. Ask for help. If you are in a public place and are being verbally or physically attacked, let others close by know you need help.
  2. Document: If it is safe, make a record of the incident by taking a photo or video of the perpetrator or the incident, or ask someone to do this for you. Note the time, day and location.
  3. Report it.
  4. Find Support: Contact Victim Link for confidential, multilingual crisis support and information and referrals.

If You Witness a Racist or Hate Incident

If you witness a racist or hate incident, you can take action in several ways in a safe and effective way:

  1. Assess your safety FIRST: Is it safe for you to say or do something? Your safety is key to be a good witness.
  2. Focus on the victim: IF IT IS SAFE, engage the victim in conversation, ask if they are okay or if they would like some assistance. This will let the perpetrator know that the victim is not alone.
  3. Engage others: IF IT IS SAFE, engage other witnesses. Talk to others in the space to gather support for the victim. There is power in numbers.
  4. Document: IF IT IS SAFE, document the incident by taking a photo or video of the incident or making notes. Keep a safe distance and note the time, day and location. Always ask the victim what they want to do with the photo or video and don’t post it online without their permission.
  5. When it is safe: Ask the victim if they would like assistance to report the incident to police or connect with Victim Link.

Get Involved – Resilience BC

The Resilience BC Anti-Racism Network offers a multi-faceted, province-wide approach with greater focus and leadership in identifying and challenging racism. The program connects communities with information, supports and training they need to respond to, and prevent future incidents of, racism and hate.

The Resilience BC Anti-Racism Network delivers coordinated services through a “Hub and Spoke” model. The centralized hub connects communities, shares information and resources and coordinates training and anti-racism initiatives. The spokes are community-based branches that represent and work with local members. They also identify local priorities and move anti-racism and anti-hate projects forward.

Learn More

Other Ways to Report

Take action if you see racist or hateful content on the Internet.

Comments or videos on the Internet are not exempt from possible criminal liability as a hate crime and can be reported for investigation  where there is a sufficient link to Canada.

Discriminatory acts such as racist, transphobic, or sexist remarks (that may or may not be criminal in nature) may also be dealt with by human rights legislation or by the permitted usage policies by social media platforms, web hosting services and Internet service providers.  Coverage may include racist or hateful language or comments on news articles, social media posts, chat forums or online gaming.

Complaints can be directed to the police or to website administrators, web hosting or Internet service providers.

  • Report it to the police – If you see direct threats on the Internet, you can report it to the police.
  • Report it to the website administrator – Most websites have rules known as ‘acceptable use policies’ that set out what cannot be put on their website and often do not allow comments, videos and photos that offend or hurt people. Web and social media sites may have simple ways for you to report about a page or video. Others may have a “report this page” button that you can click.
  • Report it to the hosting company – Hosting companies own the digital space that is rented by website owners to have a presence on the Internet. Hosting companies often have their own set of rules about content. You can find out which company hosts a website by entering their web address on the “Who is hosting this?” website.
  • Contact your own Internet supplier to get more information.