仇恨在卑詩省沒有立足之地

卑詩省每個人都有權感到安全及投入社區。
種族主義和仇恨會製造恐懼及排斥,使人無法安居樂業。
我們必須共同努力,通過了解仇恨、如何舉報仇恨罪行以及當我們目睹仇恨罪行時如何介入,終止我們社區內的種族主義和仇恨。

在所有類型的犯罪行為當中,仇恨罪行很可能是在漏報情況最嚴重的罪行之列。

針對可識別群體的仇恨靠冷漠、偏執及摧毀目標群體和我們社會的價值觀而滋長起來

加拿大最高法院
R. v. Keegstra

仇恨罪行影響所有人

我們必須明白,仇恨罪行是“傳遞訊息的罪行,作惡者向某個群體的成員發出訊息,指他們在某住宅區、社區、學校或工作場所是受到厭惡、貶低或不受歡迎的。” (美國心理學會1998)

在加拿大,仇恨罪行是一種針對人、群體或財產的刑事罪行,由犯罪者對任何屬於某個可識別群體的人的偏見、成見或仇恨驅使,而這個群體是以下列因素來區分的:人種、國族或族裔來源、語言、膚色、宗教、性別、年齡、精神或生理殘疾、性取向、性別認同或表現,或任何其他類似的因素。

在2018年,在加拿大已舉報的仇恨罪行當中,大約44%是由人種或族裔等原因驅使的。人種不是以生物科學為基礎;人種很多時與共有的獨特生理特質有關,例如膚色。族裔通常被理解為我們累積得來的東西(例如共同文化、歷史、語言或國族)。我們鼓勵您有更多了解。

針對宗教群體的仇恨罪行很多時是基於社群或個人在別人眼中或受到誤解的宗教服飾或聯繫,而以他們為目標。

在2018年,在加拿大已舉報的仇恨罪行當中,大約36%是由宗教原因驅使的。在宗教仇恨罪行當中,17%的事件涉及破壞行為,例如蓄意破壞、塗鴉或其他的財物損毀。

對於青少年、長者及有精神或生理殘疾的人士來說,人身不受傷害以及財產受到尊重,都是很重要的。這些殘疾可能包括發展困難、智力及身心健康失調。

在2018年,大約1%已舉報的仇恨罪行是涉及年齡、精神及生理殘疾。

在舉報由性取向或性別認同等原因驅使的仇恨罪行時,不必向執法人員披露受害人的性取向或性別認同,而所披露的資料不會公開分享。

在2018年,在加拿大已舉報的仇恨罪行當中,大約12%是由別人眼中的性取向這個原因驅使的。

隨著加拿大社會逐步發展,其他可識別群體在法律上可能會有界定。將“任何其他類似的因素”加入 《刑事法》(Criminal Code)內,目的是保障還未被指定為可識別群體的部分公眾人士。

何謂仇恨罪行?

《刑事法》(Criminal Code)第718.2款包含有關仇恨罪行的具體判刑條文。法律規定,如果罪行是由針對某個可識別群體的仇恨驅使的,法院可能會將這個動機看作加重判刑的因素。

Sections 318 and 319 of the Criminal Code(《刑事法》第318款及319款)處理宣揚仇恨。

(《刑事法》第318款及319款)處理宣揚仇恨。

第318款訂明,鼓吹或助長種族滅絕,屬刑事罪行。

第319(1)款訂明,在公眾地方發表煽動對任何可識別群體的仇恨言論,而這很可能導致破壞社會安寧,屬刑事罪行。舉例來說,這種罪行可能在示威或抗議的環境下發生。

第319(2)款訂明,除了在私人對話裏之外,發表故意助長對任何可識別群體的仇恨言論,屬刑事罪行。這方面包括出現在印刷品中或互聯網上的言論,包括音頻或視頻。這種罪行也可適用於在公眾可進入的地方以口頭或書面發表的言論,或者在公眾可進入的地方散布的言論。

必須注意的是,有關宣揚仇恨的法律並沒有規定要有證據,證明這樣的言論造成了實際仇恨。

Section 430 (4.1) of the Criminal Code(《刑事法》第430 (4.1)款)處理由仇恨驅使的破壞行為。在偏見、成見或仇恨驅使下,損毀或塗污禮拜場所、學校、安老院,或用作社交、文化或體育活動的地方,或主要是由可識別群體使用的活動場地,屬刑事罪行。

法律往往會平衡互相競爭的利益和權利。在加拿大,the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (《加拿大權利與自由憲章》)第2款保障表達自由的基本權利,而加拿大法律確認,對故意助長仇恨的表達形式,要有合理的限制。

圍繞這些罪行有種種複雜考慮困素,這意味著警方和檢控官會仔細考慮這些因素。不是所有由仇恨驅使的事件都構成仇恨罪行,或者都會被檢控。如果事情是有必要由警方轉介去可能作出檢控,檢察官會獨立地運用特定用於這個主題的 公眾可獲取的政策

仇恨事件是個切實可行的叫法,去界定更廣泛的一系列未必符合“仇恨罪行”的定義的行為。多種因素會受到考慮,包括行為的嚴重程度、現有證據的性質及公眾利益考慮因素,而當局可能會決定,不起訴或檢控某些充滿仇恨、成見或偏見的行為。

在所有仇恨事件裏,不論最終是否被判定為犯法,受害人和社區團體都有一定作用 – 參看“舉報”及“採取行動”。

[仇恨]

明顯是由誹謗和憎惡所引起的性質強烈而且極端的情緒。針對可識別群體的仇恨靠冷漠、偏執及摧毀目標群體和我們社會的價值觀而滋長起來。仇恨若以可識別群體的成員為對象,是一種情緒,暗示那些人基於群體聯繫,應該受到厭惡、受到鄙視、得不到尊重以及受到惡劣對待。

加拿大最高法院 - R. v. Keegstra

Hate Has No Place in BC

Every person in British Columbia has a right to feel safe and participate in their community.
Racism and hate makes that impossible by creating fear and exclusion.
We need to work together to end racism and hate in our communities by understanding hate, how to report it and how to step in when we witness it.

Of all forms of criminality, hate crimes are likely to be among the most underreported offences.

Hatred against identifiable groups thrives on insensitivity, bigotry and destruction of both the target group and of the values of our society.

Supreme Court of Canada
R. v. Keegstra

Hate Crimes Affect Everyone

It’s important to understand that hate crimes are “message crimes in that the perpetrator is sending a message to the members of a certain group that they are despised, devalued, or unwelcome in a particular neighbourhood, community, school, or workplace.” (American Psychological Association 1998).

The following is provided for general information rather than legal advice or an exhaustive definition of hate crime. In Canada, a hate crime is a criminal offence against a person, group or property that is motivated by the offender’s bias, prejudice, or hate towards anyone belonging to an identifiable group distinguished by race, national or ethnic origin, language, colour, religion, sex, age, mental or physical disability, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, or on any other similar factor.

In 2018, approximately 44 percent of reported hate crimes in Canada were motivated by race or ethnicity. Race is a term used to classify people into groups based principally on physical traits such as skin colour. Racial categories are not based on science or biology but on differences that society has created, with significant consequences for people’s lives. Racial categories may vary over time and place and can overlap with ethnic, cultural or religious groupings. Ethnicity is typically understood as something we acquire (e.g. common culture, history, language or nationhood).

In 2018, approximately 36 percent of reported hate crimes in Canada were motivated by religion. Religion is any religious denomination, group, sect, or other religiously defined community or system of belief and/or spiritual faith practices. Hate crimes against religious groups are often targeted against communities or individuals based on their perceived or misinterpreted religious attire or affiliation.

In 2018, approximately 1 percent of reported hate crimes involved age, mental and physical disability. One in five Canadians aged 15 and older are estimated to have at least one disability. Victimization research has found that having a disability, and the severity of the disability, are linked to higher levels of victimization. In regard to age, victimization research has found that seniors are more likely than non-seniors to stay home due to the fear of crime, whereas non-seniors are more likely to alter their behaviour in some other way in order to protect themselves.

In 2018, approximately 12 percent of reported hate crimes in Canada were motivated by perceived sexual orientation, while approximately 1 percent were motivated by perceived gender identity.  Sexual orientation refers to whom one is sexually and/or romantically attracted. Gender identity refers to a person’s internal and external experience of gender which may be the same or different from their sex at birth. Some victims of hate crimes based on sexual orientation may be transgender individuals targeted because of their perceived sexual orientation.

As Canadian society evolves, other identifiable groups may become defined in law. The addition of “any other similar factor” to the Criminal Code aims to protect sections of the public not yet specified as identifiable groups.

What Is A Hate Crime?

Almost any type of crime committed against a person or property can be motivated by hate. These can include offences like assault, uttering threats, criminal harassment, and mischief, including graffiti.

Section 718.2 of the Criminal Code contains specific sentencing provisions relating to hate crimes. The law provides that when an offence was motivated by hate against an identifiable group, a court may consider that motivation as an aggravating factor to a criminal sentence.

Sections 318 and 319 of the Criminal Code address hate propaganda.

Section 318 makes advocating or promoting genocide a criminal offence.

Section 319(1) makes it a criminal offence to communicate a statement in a public place that incites hate against any identifiable group, where it is likely to lead to a breach of the peace. For example, this offence could occur in the context of a demonstration or protest.

Section 319(2) makes it a criminal offence to communicate statements, other than in private conversation, which willfully promote hate against any identifiable group. This includes statements appearing in print or on the Internet, including in audio or video. This offence can also apply to statements spoken or written in a place accessible to the public, or statements distributed in a place accessible to the public.

It is important to note that hate propaganda laws do not require proof that the communication caused actual hatred.

Section 430 (4.1) of the Criminal Code addresses hate-motivated mischief. When motivated by bias, prejudice or hate, damaging or defacing places of worship, schools, seniors’ residences, or places used for social, cultural or sports activities or events that are primarily used by an identifiable group, is a criminal offence.

The law often balances competing interests and rights. In Canada, Section 2 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms protects fundamental rights to freedom of expression, while Canadian law recognizes a reasonable limit to forms of expression that willfully promote hatred.

The complex considerations around these offences means they are carefully considered by the police and prosecutors. Not all hate-motivated incidents constitute hate crimes or are prosecuted. If the matter warrants referral by police for potential prosecution, Crown counsel independently apply a publicly available policy specific to this topic

A hate incident is a practical way of defining a broader range of behaviour that may or may not meet the definition of “hate crime”. A variety of factors are considered, including the gravity of the behaviour, the nature of the available evidence and public interest considerations, and authorities may decide that some hateful, prejudicial or biased conduct will not be charged or prosecuted.

With all hate incidents, whether ultimately determined criminal or not, victims and community groups have a role to play – see “Report” and “Take Action”.

[hatred]

Emotion of an intense and extreme nature that is clearly associated with vilification and detestation. Hatred against identifiable groups thrives on insensitivity, bigotry and destruction of both the target group and of the values of our society. Hatred is an emotion that, if exercised against members of an identifiable group, implies that those individuals are to be despised, scorned, denied respect and made subject to ill treatment on the basis of group affiliation.

Supreme Court of Canada - R. v. Keegstra